15th Festival

Welcome to the 15th Edition of the8fest!

Welcome to the long-awaited 15th edition of the8fest Small-Gauge Film Festival!

For the second year in a row, the8fest is delivering our little analog festival online. It has been quite the transition from the familiar sights and sounds of a theatre full of people and projectors. We cannot wait until we can safely gather together again. Offering this year online and on demand has allowed us to prioritize the safety of our audience, filmmakers and the8fest team. We hope that the silver lining will be that more people – beyond the Greater Toronto Area – are able to tune in and enjoy, spreading small-gauge love worldwide!

15 years of the8fest is a big accomplishment for our little organization, and we would not have made it this far without the love, dedication and DIY spirit of Milada Kováčová. After 15 years of Board service, Milada is moving on from the8fest. The Board would like to thank her for her steadfast commitment and service. As a founding member of the festival, Milada’s programming has been a cornerstone, which has helped to bring new audiences and artists to small gauge film. Her warmth, enthusiasm and hospitality are what have helped to make the8fest not only a festival, but a home for artists of little films. 

With exits, there have also been entrances by the way of new board members and team staff and we hope the new energy will carry the festival forward into exciting new terrains!

We hope you enjoy this year’s offerings. Congratulations to all the filmmakers screening this year. Thank you to our small but mighty 8fest team, our programmers, sponsors and funders. You, the audience and community, make it all possible! To many more “8fests”.

- the8fest Board



the8fest would like to thank:

Our funders: Canada Council for the Arts and Toronto Arts Council, and special thanks to our program officers Emily Muir (CCA) and Peter Kingstone (TAC). Our sponsors: Chris Kennedy and Renata Mohamed (Liaison of Independent Filmmakers of Toronto), Samuel La France (IMAGES Festival), Janine Marchessault (Archive/Counter-Archive), Theresa Slater (Pleasure Dome), Genne Speers (Canadian Filmmakers Distribution Centre). Staff: Aaron Rachel Brown, Tara Hakim, Philip Mroczkowski, Leslie Supnet. Programmers: Sarah-Tai Black, Jesse Brossoit, Mahlet Cuff, TJ Cuthand, Cayley James, Milada Kovacova, Jonathan Pollard/Home Movie History Project, Yixun Zhang. Workshop facilitators: Fanci Duran, Mivan Makia, Alexi Manis. Commission mentors: Marcos Arriaga, Mivan Makia, Morgan Sears-Williams. Poster, catalogue and trailer design: Marvin Luvualu António. Catalogue layout: Lillian Moon. Poster screen-printing: Jesse Purcell at Repetition Press. ASL interpretation: Cindy Muskat. Closed captioning: CCS Inc.

Special thanks to: Lukas Blakk, Ben Donoghue, Martin Heath, Sebastjan Henrickson (Niagara Custom Lab), James King, Christine Lucy Latimer, Louise Liliefeldt, Sean Lee (Tangled Arts), Scott Miller-Berry, Aaron Moore, Polish Combatants’ Hall, VTape (Chris Gehman, Lisa Steele, Kim Tomczak), Sally Walker-Hudecki.

And thank you to all the filmmakers!